Granny’s Welsh cakes live on!

There are so many Welsh cakes recipes, but I could never deviate from Granny’s recipe, as they are loved by all the family just the way they are.

Welsh cakes are cooked on a bakestone, of which I have two. The very best, my brother made for me years ago, it’s cast iron, very heavy but makes the most delicious Welsh cakes. The other I bought at a local cook’s shop, it’s made of a much lighter metal and is well travelled… so yet again was part of my check in allowance!

The recipe is easy, and yes, I have tried substituting the sugar with alternative sweeteners, it just doesn’t work, and as my health conscious children say, “it’s OK mum they’re homemade!”

Unfortunately you do need some kind of bakestone or flat cooking surface, I’ve tried using a flat frying pan, but that was a disaster.

Ingredients

  • 450 gm. Self Raising flour
  • 225 gm. Butter
  • 170 gm. Currants
  • 6 Tablespoons of Caster sugar
  • 2 Beaten Eggs

 

Method

  • Start by heating the bakestone over a low heat.
  • Rub the flour and butter together until they form fine breadcrumbs.
  • Gently fold in the sugar and currants.
  • Add the beaten eggs, and using a fork or your hand, gently make the mixture into a ball.
  • Roll out the mixture on a lightly floured board, to about 1cm thick or just slightly over, and using a medium sized cutter, cut out the Welsh cakes.
  • Cook on the bakestone for 2-3 minutes each side, the Welsh cake should feel firm but springy.
  • Cool on cooling rack.

This is the third batch I’ve made this week, and the heart shaped one is for Rafey (my grandson and number one Welsh cake fan).

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

