The Old Coastguard, Cornwall

I remember a lecturer once saying that every 4-6 weeks he would book into a hotel for 24 hours and work.

The reason for this was to remove himself from the outside world, to totally focus on, and reassess, his business plan and also to re-motivate himself.

I wouldn’t be able to escape as often as he did, but I have just spent 48hrs chilling out at The Old Coastguard in Mousehole Cornwall.

It is one of three properties owned by brothers Charles and Edmund Inkin. Another, here in Cornwall, and the third, The Felin Fach Griffin, in Powys, which I’ve also stayed at, and again is highly recommended.

The Old Coastguard is an elegant, chic ‘hotel’ overlooking the Atlantic. I’m loathed to call it a hotel, it’s far more intimate. The staff are young and extremely helpful without being intrusive, there’s a general underlying buzz about the place which I love.

Bedrooms are so so comfortable. Large beds, woollen blankets and comfy chairs, together with a tray of local tea, coffee, fresh milk and shortbread biscuits, UHT has no place here. There are no televisions in the rooms, just a radio and books… sheer bliss.

The bathroom, large with natural toiletries and good quality towels, again another plus.

Downstairs is almost shabby-chic, with an open fire, fresh flowers and large sofas and chairs.

img_5541

You can curl up, relax, read the papers, or work on your computer, if you so wish, as wifi is excellent throughout, as is the artwork of Cornish artists that adorn the walls.

During the summer, breakfast eaten in the garden, which leads to the shore, I imagine would be idyllic with the sound of birdsong and lapping waves.

Mmm.. the kitchen! Food is excellent, with everything sourced locally, I had delicious fish and vegetarian dishes, breakfast was equally as good, with fresh ‘everything’.

The wine list is really interesting, a considerable amount of thought has obviously gone into the choice on offer. Good local beers too.

My only slight negative!  As there was no shower, I expected a bath tap with shower attachment, which I could use for washing my hair, but there wasn’t one.

There was a large jug which I could use, and I guess, if it was good enough for Poldark, it’s good enough for me!!

Only one more to go, The Gurnard’s Head, and I know I won’t be disappointed.
Oh, and before I forget, “Thank-you Lauren, for letting Q Bear help with this morning’s checkout, he was so excited and will tell everyone about it when he returns to Bermuda”

Leave a Reply

